Connecticut Becomes First State to Require Sick Pay for Service Workers
Wednesday, December 28, 2011
(photo: KOMO News)
Beginning in January, Connecticut will implement the nation’s first state mandatory paid sick leave for service employees.
The new law only applies to businesses with 50 or more employees.
Service workers will be able to accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, with a maximum of five days total in a calendar year.
To become eligible for the paid sick leave, employees must first work 680 hours at their job and have averaged at least 10 hours per week.
The cities of San Francisco, Washington D.C. and Seattle have also passed laws requiring paid sick leaves.
Employers Should Prepare for New Paid Sick Leave Law (by Jeffrey P. Mogan, Connecticut Labor & Employment Law Journal)
Step-By-Step Guide to Paid Sick Leave (by James Shea and Holly Cini, Hartford Business Journal)
- Top Stories
- Unusual News
- Where is the Money Going?
- U.S. and the World
- Appointments and Resignations
- Latest News
- Chemical Safety Board Accuses ATF of Interfering with Probe of Texas Fertilizer Plant Explosion
- U.S. Energy Grid under Attack
- Texas Bill Allows Police to Seize Guns from People in “Mental Crisis”
- 4 States Pass Laws Hiding Names of Suppliers of Death Penalty Drugs
- Federal Government Charges Researchers with Using U.S. Grant to Help Chinese Commercial Spying